First Presbyterian is led by a dedicated group of men and women elected to serve a three year term as an elder in the ministry areas of Worship, Christian Education, Mission, Fellowship, Congregational Care, Support Services, Communications, Finance, and Personnel. The PC(USA) says the following about elders:

“As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. Accordingly, congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.” 

- Book of Order G-2.0301

The Session (the full body of elders) meets monthly, on the fourth Monday at 7:00pm in the Heritage Room.

Current Session


Toni Conger, Sarah Davis, John Downs, Sloan Goforth, Sandra Milholland, Dick Sears

Class of 2019

John Childress, John Gilbert, III, Jane Lentz, Bill Long, Joan Scott, Ann Speaks

Class of 2020

Harriet Gilbert, David Parker, Carol Pickett, Susan Sharp, Jim Tarman, Scott Zanotti

Session Organization, 2017-18

Christian Education: John Childress*, Carol Pickett    
Communication: Jane Lentz*, Sandra Milholland    
Congregational Care: Harriet Gilbert*        
Fellowship: Sara Davis*, Toni Conger    
Finance: Bill Long*, Joan Scott, John Gilbert
Mission: John Downs*, Susan Sharp    
Personnel: Sloan Goforth*, Ann Speaks, David Parker
Support Services: Dick Sears*, Scott Zanotti    
Worship: Jim Tarman*

*Ministry Chairperson